Learning areas

You are here

Learning areas

This section explores how educators use the decision-making process to extend and enrich children’s learning.

It focuses on the five learning outcomes of the Early Years Learning Framework and the associated focus areas for learning under Foundations for Success.

Each learning area describes:

  • planned learning - the knowledge, skills and dispositions expected of children in their early years
  • pedagogy - the intentional teaching practices that promote this learning
  • documenting and reflecting - the ways children can demonstrate their learning in the early years.

Educators use this information to plan for learning that is responsive to individual children, the group and the community context.

A series of questions — 'As you reflect on your practices ask yourself' — is provided for each learning area to guide your reflection on the ‘cultural fit’ of decision-making in responding to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children, their families and the community.

An overview of each learning area is provided below.

Early Years Learning Framework
learning outcome

Foundations for Success
learning areas

Foundations for Success
specific focus

Children have a strong sense of identity Being proud and strong
  • Identity and belonging
  • Confidence and resilience
Children are connected with and contribute to their world Being an active participant
  • Listening and negotiation
  • Positive relationships
Children have a strong sense of wellbeing Being healthy and safe
  • Safety and security
  • Physical security
Children are confident and involved learners Being a learner
  • Involvement in learning
  • Investigating environments
Children are effective communicators Being a communicator
  • Oral language/s
  • Literacy
  • Numeracy

For more information and resources to help you plan for learning across each of the learning areas, go to planned learning.